Annoyed by reality

My husband told me a couple weeks ago that we need new tires on the vehicle he drives. This is kind of a bummer since we’ve only had the car for a bit over a year, but we have driven it a lot and the tires might have been older than we were told originally, unbeknownst to the dealer.

I also found out yesterday that my vision prescription has changed in one eye, to the point that I was getting eye strain headaches and pulsating eyeballs and thought I might have a brain tumor. Not really, but I at least wanted to rule out glaucoma. I don’t have glaucoma, I’m just my parents’ child and will probably eventually need bi-focals, then tri-focals.

I am just annoyed with both of these facts since that’s going to end up being a significant amount of money. It’s no problem in our budget, just will slow down the debt snowball a bit, but I have a Big Birthday on the way and was hoping to get something significant to mark the date. I like having a tangible remembrance of big life events, which is why I love both my graduate school commencement gifts so much, a right hand ring and a Coach bag. Oh, well…

One happy surprise, though, was that our medical insurance covered my eye exam, so that’s $100 I didn’t have to spend. Does that mean I can buy a new Coach purse after all?

2 thoughts on “Annoyed by reality

  1. For a bit of unsolicited advice, I suggest you head over to Discount Tire in Waite Park. We have been getting tires from DC for years and they always give great service and have reasonable prices. We usually buy their $7 tire warranty too, and have made use of it on several occasions. I usually pass on those kinds of warranties on electronics or other home items, but it’s not uncommon to pop a tire on a nail or wayward bit of road shrapnel, which makes the warranty well worth it.

Leave a Reply

